Britain to Ban Flights From Six African Nations as Variant Identified

Britain will briefly ban flights from six African international locations beginning on Friday, as the nation’s well being ministry investigates a brand new variant of the coronavirus.

The nation’s well being secretary, Sajid Javid, didn’t title the international locations in a tweet on Thursday. But he stated that the six nations will probably be added to the nation’s crimson listing, which might require British vacationers coming from these nations to quarantine on arrival.

“More data is needed but we’re taking precautions now,” he stated.

Earlier on Thursday, scientists in South Africa recognized a regarding new variant, whose mutations proof a “big jump in evolution.” That variant is driving a spike in new infections there.

Since the onset of the pandemic, various variants have emerged. One underlying concern about new variants is whether or not they are going to stymie progress in opposition to the pandemic or whether or not they are going to restrict the vaccine’s effectiveness.

Only weeks in the past, Britain introduced that it could cease requiring any vacationers to quarantine in government-designated lodges, eradicating the final seven international locations from its “red list” for coronavirus threat.

That change ended restrictions on passengers arriving from Colombia, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Haiti, Panama, Peru and Venezuela.

Since then, Mr. Javid stated that the federal government would proceed to reserve various rooms in lodges “on standby,” in case quarantine necessities wanted to be reinstated.